You Don’t REALLY Read.

Something has been seriously bothering my spirit. For those of you who don’t know, when my spirit is bothered, I feel the need to express myself. Sometimes it comes out nicely, other times it just comes out. We shall see how this one goes.

I have recently had and seen an influx of conversations where people tell other people what criteria they must meet to be considered a REAL READER. If you rolled your eyes or just whispered “What the f…” then you’re my type of people!

I know in the book community, we all have our books that we love to hate or love to make fun of (50 Shades of Comedy and Shiny McGlitterson series for me) but I don’t think that it is at any point alright to dictate what makes someone a legitimate connoisseur of books. I was having a conversation with someone in a book group and they asked me what classics if I read and which ones I loved. I said the ones I liked and I guess when they noticed there was no Shakespeare, Bronte, or Dickens they were insulted.

I was then told “No real reader wouldn’t have at least one of those authors in their favorite classics.” The way my disrespect is set up, I just left the group because I have none of the patience for such dribble.

Anyone who reads and enjoys reading is a reader. I may not like the same books you read and I may feel like you non Harry Potter lovers are odd creatures from a distant planet, but this doesn’t mean I view you as less of a reader. I know some people who will only read romance, not because they are “air heads” or “saps” but because that’s what they prefer to read. No, I don’t have to read any of the classics, as I am no longer in High School and you can’t make me!

Furthermore, my reading list shouldn’t concern anyone but me, even though I like sharing my list because talking about different books is fun!

So read on fellow book people! Talk about books you like and bash those you don’t because it’s all in the fun but don’t bash others…it’s not nice!

Ciao Book THOTS!

10 comments

  1. I ignore people like this when this conversation comes up. LIfe’s too short. Sometimes, I skip pages. Sometimes I read the last page first. And ya know what, I HATE Bronte and Dickens- I’d rather eat canned green beans. I hated each year when I had to teach Great Expectations to freshman.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Completely agree with you. I have my taste and I let others have theirs. I notice the ‘fun police’ less with books than I do with other media though; music in particular.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I totally agree with you. I don’t understand people who slate others because of what they read. I haven’t really read any classics and I don’t feel bad about that. I prefer to pick up things I know I’ll like rather than waste my reading time trying to struggle through someone ‘literary’
    Gemma @ http://www.gemmasbooknook.blogspot.com

    Like

  4. ” like you non Harry Potter lovers are odd creatures from a distant planet ” Hahahahahaha you got me!
    And yes I agree with you. Sometimes I read 7-8 books but end up liking none of them and then I always feel so bad because I think something’s wrong with me but I guess that’s how it is. You like what you like, you don’t like what you don’t like. Everyone has their choices.

    Like

  5. Ohhh everything you said is so true… As someone who indulges in YA fantasy a lot, I am sure I will also be judged by such people…. Lets just ignore them and enjoy our time with our favorite books….

    Like

Leave a Reply

