On Wednesdays, We Talk Witches!

Books Featuring Witches:

Happy Hump day everybody! In this week’s Top 5 Wednesday post, we get to talk about witches. To make it better, we get to talk about witches in books. I will warn you that this week’s list contains some books that I own but haven’t read because they fit the list. Also because I am really trying to introduce you guys to different books.

Akata Witch

I have discussed this book a few times before. Akata Witch is a middle grade book about an albino girl in Nigeria discovering witchcraft! I loved it because it wasn’t sinister. For those of you who don’t know, most African stories about witch craft end up being super sinister and deadly. I love this book and the second one is out now with a cover change!! The new covers are bomb though!

The Merciless

This is one of the books that I have but haven’t read yet. I bought this book and I thought I would love it because…witches. However, I made the mistake of reading reviews on it and now I am afraid to read it. I will get over it soon though because the gold font is calling my name!

Dream A Little Dream

This is also another book I didn’t get to yet.I am not afraid of this one, it’s just that when it comes to my TBR and my priorities in what book I want to read first, this book is not at the top of my list. I feel like since I am learning how to properly make this TBR thing work for me, I may have space for it this month…but who knows?

Witch Child

I remember reading this ages ago! My mom was about to have a cardiac infarction because her “…daughter was going to practice witch craft!”She was having a hard time between my Roald Dahl books and harry Potter, this one just put her over the edge. She has since calmed down. I remember enjoying this book, but don’t ask me what I remember in the book.

Taffy

This one is a bit of a stretch but it does fit! So, there was witch craft involved in Taffy but it wasn’t called that, they just called it magic. Who practices magic though? Witches! See? I made it work!

I also think it is only fair to mention that The Craft is my honorable mention!?

What are some books you own or like that feature witches as characters? Do you think it is fair to make a list excluding Harry Potter?

Ciao Book THOTS!

24 comments

  1. I picked up Witch Child at a used book sale but I haven’t read it yet. I actually just started listening to a book about witches today, Whiskey Witches.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome list, and definitely some interesting books to check out in the future.

    Just to let you know though, Merciless doesn’t have anything to do with Witches. In fact witches are never even mentioned in the book. It is mostly centered around demonic possession and exorcisms. Either way I still thoroughly enjoyed it and recommend it as long as your not looking for something mind-blowing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

