Sincerely, Over It

                                                                       

                                                                        

 

Basic Overview:
Title: Dear Delilah

Author: T. Bester

Book Format: E-Book

My Numeric Judgment:

♦SPOILER ALERT♦
This has nothing to do with the song “Hey There Delilah”.

Summary:
Savannah and Nathan were best friends. They were never the friends who denied attraction to each other, they were the ones who knew it was there and did nothing about it. Unfortunately, one single event causes their friendship to derail and Savannah takes on a role of writing a sex column (as advised by her boss) in order to distract herself from her lost friendship.

Judgments:
I had so many issues with this book that I will just start with the positives and then work my way from there. Cool? Cool! The cover and the synopsis were bomb! Give me a moment while I think about the other positive. Oh yeah! I loved Savannah’s interaction with her family. I found it very realistic and endearing.

The main reason I am upset about this book is because I was so excited about it! I legit finished reading this book last weekend, but I was struggling with whether I should water down my opinion because this is an ARC, or if I should be myself. I decided that the reason I do this blog is to tell you guys my HONEST opinion. I am going to begin at the beginning, so bare with me.
The main female character’s name is Savannah. She had EVERY VARIATION OF THAT NAME AS A NICKNAME, I kid you not! There was “Van” Vanny” “Sav” “Savvy” I was waiting for someone to call her “Vannah” to be honest. I know, I know, before you even say it. I know, you’re going to say, “Isatta, aren’t you being kind of harsh? Some people have many nicknames.” I am glad you brought that up, (If you didn’t, let’s just pretend you did for the sake of a segue.) Nathan had several nicknames as well. The only character without at least two nicknames was Toby, Savannah’s brother’s boyfriend, who had no nickname at all. Color me shocked! There was literally a point in the book when I asked “Why does everyone have a dang nickname?”. While I was dwelling on that portion, she was not so subtly pushed into taking the role of sex adviser and she responded like a true mature college student. That part actually made me chuckle because I really felt like that would have been my reaction to such a request. I am pretty sure after the debacle about deciding whether or not she should do the Sex Advice Column, things in the book just went downhill for me.
I distinctly recall rolling my eyes at certain things that just came across very dramatically. For example, Quote 3 In all fairness, this is no less dramatic than some other books that I have read; it’s just that between the extremely dramatic moments, monologues on the importance of feminism, multiple feminist manifestos, as well as the over-the-top “uniqueness” of each character, the book was far too much for me. I am fairly certain the next book in this series will be about Nathan’s younger sister, but I am almost equally certain I won’t be picking it up. I was given this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

What is your favorite college romance novel? Have you read this book? If not, have you read anything else by T. Bester that you would recommend?

Ciao Book THOTS!

13 thoughts on “Sincerely, Over It

  1. Katie @Just Another Girl and Her Books says:

    While I think it’s normal for people with longer names to have nicknames (I’m Katherine by have always gone by Katie to the point that I really consider the nickname to be my name), I don’t think it’s normal for those people to have several different nicknames (I hate it when people shorten Katie to Kate because that’s not my name.) I think I’d be bugged by that aspect of this story too is what I’m saying.

    Great review and thanks for being honest with us.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jen says:

    It’s not a book I would normally read and don’t think I will be anytime soon. Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy it, sometimes it just doesn’t work out… Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. terriluvsbooks says:

    Ha! I have a nickname of Van and it has nothing to do with my name.
    I’m glad you were honest. It’s hard sometimes to give reviews for books you don’t like.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kaite says:

    Thanks for the review! I haven’t read many college romances… probably for this reason. I had plenty of drama and heartache in college I don’t always need to read about someone else’s. And as someone who was part of the college paper, yeah, so much drama. Thanks for the heads up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

