Tell Me How You Really Feel?

As promised, Below will be a questionnaire on how The Reader’s Bay and I REALLY FELT felt about Made You Up. As you can see, she was not a fan of the book and I loved it. We still get along though, lol. This does contain spoilers, so if you have NOT read the book I WARNED YOU!

Made You Up Review Questions

1. What did you think about the book in general?
Reader’s Bay: Umm, it was a so-so read for me.
Abominable Book Girl: I thought it was a great book!

2. What was your favorite part of the book? Why?
Reader’s Bay: The part where Miles and Tucker tell Alex that Charlie isn’t real and she is just in her head. It was a very shocking moment for me, the only part where I was so deeply engrossed in the book!
Abominable Book Girl: I thought the freeing of the lobsters portion was epic. I used to watch the lobster tank as a kid all the time and I always wondered what would happen if I freed them as well.

3. Who was your favorite character in the book?
Reader’s Bay: I feel so bad saying this, but no-one really, I couldn’t connect with any of the characters.
Abominable Book Girl:I absolutely loved Miles. I think he may has some form of Asperger Syndrome based on his reaction to people, as well as how he chose to go about dealing with his social issues, but that is pure speculation from a non psych major.

4. What part of the book did you dislike? Why?
Reader’s Bay: Well, there were a lot of things. I didn’t like how the first half of the book focused merely on Alex just fitting in a new school because of her schizophrenia. I mean even a person without schizophrenia, would have a difficult time adjusting to new surroundings. Secondly, I hated how being called a Nazi was seen as an insult. Like Nazis are a major recalling of the terrible events of world war so it shouldn’t be shown as someone merely making a joke about it. Because seriously, it’s not funny. Third, I felt like it was promoting bullying to some point. It was so normal for Miles to beat up some kid, break-in or do some bad-ass shit for money. And money from none others but the kids themselves. Basically, the kids paying Miles to beat up other kids. That’s messed up.
Abominable Book Girl:I didn’t like the fact that one of the characters was basically being molested and that entire subject was kind of just hinted at and then glossed over. It was also very concerning to me how many students seemed to have some sort of mental issue, but if I really think about my high school experience, it seems about accurate.

5. Is there anything that stands out to you in the book?
Reader’s Bay: No, not really…
Abominable Book Girl: The lobsters in a tank metaphor is the one thing that just sticks with me.

6. What made you decide to read this book?
Reader’s Bay: Schizophrenia! I’m obsessed with learning more about this.
Abominable Book Girl: I read Eliza and Her Monsters and absolutely loved it and so I went and bought this one as soon as I finished it…then read it some months later because…reasons.

7. How did you feel about the way schizophrenia was presented in this book?
Reader’s Bay : In the first half, I expected so much more. I thought it would be like Alex relating her feelings about schizophrenia or what exactly is it and how she deals with it. So the first half was very disappointing for me because I didn’t find anything out of the normal. However, the second part made so much more sense because then I started going back, reading what had happened earlier, trying to make out the difference between reality and illusion.
Abominable Book Girl:I loved it! I think a lot of the time people with schizophrenia are made to seem too mental to function or as though they should have no thoughts/opinions. This book toyed with the idea that some people with schizophrenia may just be in tune with the world on a higher level (If I lost you that’s okay). I thought the fact that although we never knew for certain what was happening in the moment, we knew that majority of what she saw was a foreshadowing.

8. What would you change, if anything, in this story?
Reader’s Bay: Can the school please be normal? Instead of a scheming administration, kids running school, bullies, and an actual janitor person instead of a boy who has a freezer with python food in there. Unrealistic, no?
Abominable Book Girl:Can we address the assaults…and other issues…because they were introduced and kind of just tied up and pushed away.

9. Assuming you read Eliza and Her Monsters, which did you like better? Why?
Reader’s Bay: I haven’t read Eliza. But I definitely will.
Abominable Book Girl: I liked both but they weren’t comparable. If I had to choose, I would choose this one because it is a POV that is new to me.

10. Based on this book, would you read another book by Francesca Zappia?
Reader’s Bay: Her writing style wasn’t bad, so hell yeah, I would. Especially if it’s about any mental illness.
Abominable Book Girl: She could write a grocery list and I would but it.

This is a prime example of different strokes for different folks! I read this book and was like “OMG! Where has this book been all my life!” but Reader’s Bay read it and was like
and both responses are fine. We would both read another book by her though. Anyway, feel free to let us know your thoughts if you have read this book!

Ciao Book THOTS!

2 thoughts on “Tell Me How You Really Feel?

Leave a Reply

