Why Am I Reading This?

Greetings Fellow Book THOTS!

I have a pain in my heart that I must share with you all. I have a bad habit of reading books, that I know are absolute trash!

I can not be the only person with this problem, so please tell me in the comments if you are guilty of this as well. Let me paint you all a picture. I go to a bookstore, okay let me not lie I go to Book Outlet and Amazon, I see a list of great books that I want to buy. Do I pick them up?

Well, eventually yes. But first, I scan the extremely cheap books that make me cringe when I see the cover. Then, I hypocritically* think to myself “Never judge a book by its cover.” to justify my utter and complete foolishness. Then I choose very raunchy books with terribly cheesy summaries and then just tell myself

Then I begin reading…this is where the problem usually begins. Now, before anyone comes to fight me, this does not apply to all my raunchy reads. I also openly admit this is a problem of mine that I just seem to be unable and unwilling to rectify. I just can not help but read these books with Solomon Grundy love and semi-abusive men.

The Heaven help me if it is a series, I will continue reading the series! Mind you, I will talk shit the entire time I am reading! I really just need someone to rub my back, hold my hand, look me in the eyes and shout at the top of their lungs

* I judge my covers. Not sorry.

What are your guilty book pleasures? What are some books you casually avoid telling people you have read?

Ciao Book THOTS!

23 comments

  1. I love a good trashy novel here and there, it reminds me of my 20’s. I was a mess. You are not alone. People judge too much anyways. Sometimes a good smut read is the perfect book filler. You read that one before heading on to something else. I get ya!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I usually try to stay away from trashy novels, but they sometimes slip through the cracks. Not that that is ever a bad thing! Sometimes a trashy novel is the most interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I usually try to avoid books if I don’t think I will enjoy them. I always feel guilty if I start a book and don’t finish it because I can’t get into it. Plus, I hate writing negative reviews even though they are inevitable, because we aren’t going to like every single book we read.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My elderly Bible banging mother would call the books I read trash and smut. I don’t read erotica but I do read women’s fiction. Of course, she thinks I already going to hell for drinking wine – might as well enjoy myself while I slurp πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I call these kinds of books “bubble gum reading” I don’t chew gum for the most part, but when I do it’s fun to get bubble gum. I go through phases with smut books, but when I’m on a roll, I’ll read like 20 of them one after the other.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

