Second is Better!

Second is the Best:
We are halfway through the week! In celebration, allow me to share with you my list of series where the second book was better than the first! This is my Top 5 Wednesday post.

Ender’s Shadow

Ender’s Game is probably my favorite Science Fiction novel. Ender’s Shadow is supposedly the beginning of a different series, but in my head it is book 2 to Ender’s Game. Anyway, I loved the story of Beans even more than the story of Ender (and I LOVE Ender’s story). Reading this book just filled me with so much happiness and excitement!

Catching Fire

You have to agree with me, I mean I know I can’t tell you what to like but I don’t see how you read this series and don’t agree with this. Yes, Hunger Games was great, but Catching Fire was legit! I remember when I picked it up, I was fully expecting to be disappointed because the first book was so great, what else could she possibly write? She shut me up real quick.

Addicted For Now

I love love love this entire series as well as the partner series The Calloway Sisters. I didn’t adore the first book; it was new for me because I don’t think I have ever read anything from the point of view of an addict. After getting used to the mindset though, this second book was way better for me. I love rooting for the underdog and the characters personalities outside of their addiction just made my heart soar.

Broken Prince

I read the first book in this series, Paper Princess and was instantly mad at myself for waiting so dang long to read it. The second book had me on edge because I wasn’t expecting everything that occurred. I love when authors surprise me!

New Moon

So listen friend, we have discussed my situation-ship with this series. I remember I liked the first book, but I loved New Moon. I think at the time it was the first book where the author expressed the character was depressed, and showed it in the writing. I was so used to seeing books where they say things like “She was hurt.” Only to get to the next chapter and see the same character at somebody’s house party. I enjoyed the chapters upon chapters of nothing happening. I am just going to begin pretending the other two books don’t exist. Childish? Yes. Do I care? Nope!

Which second books do you think are the best?

Ciao Book THOTS!

7 thoughts on “Second is Better!

  1. Megan @ Ginger Mom says:

    I haven’t read Ender’s Game yet but really want to. And oh, I hope Catching Fire is better because I had a hard time paying attention in Hunger Games (and I love dystopians). As for New Moon…I think my only real favorite was Breaking Dawn. New Moon was all Bella drama. Great list, though 🙂 Love your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

