No Western World! (Maybe)

Top 5 Wednesday

Leaving the Western World:
Hello fellow Book THOTS! This week’s Top 5 Wednesday’s topic is about books that don’t take place in or aren’t inspired by the Western World. In other words, books that are not set in the United States or Europe. Hopefully I can introduce you to some new reads!
Akata Witch

I am an African, Sierra Leonean if you would like to know, and it is not often that I see African Fantasy or Science Fiction authors. Nnedi Okarafor dabbles in both SF/F as well as magical realism. This book caught my attention the moment I saw the title. I was just looking at my goodreads like

And I had to have it. This book is set in Nigeria as well as a mythical land.

Never Fall Down

Never Fall Down and one other book on this list are kind of pushing it, but as you know

The majority of this book is set in Cambodia starting in 1968 and going onward. There is a very small part of this book that is set in America and while I could have picked another book that is entirely set elsewhere, I really like this book and this is my way of bringing it to your attention so you can read it and like it If you don’t like it, don’t be like me and let it be known…just keep it to yourself.

Illuminae

To be completely honest with you, I love Illuminae. I know majority of it takes place on a flight but they were on some planet, in some place before but that part of it is always foggy for me because I spent the first few pages very confused. I hope you don’t judge me severely because to be honest all that matters is most of the book was on a space craft.

China Rich Girlfriend

Remember how I said there were two books that were going to be pushing it? This is the other book. China Rich Girlfriend is the second book in the crazy Rich Asians trilogy and I just feel like once again, this is a trilogy everyone needs to read. Granted, a few small portions are in the US but majority of it is set in China and Singapore. These books are life!

A Thousand Splendid Suns

A Thousand Splendid Suns is my top favorite book of all time. This book is the reason why Khaled Hosseini is my favorite author and my auto-buy. This book is set in Afghanistan and is simply breath taking. You learn so much about the history and culture of Afghanistan. It makes you so much more empathetic…

Have you read any of these books? What is your favorite non western cultural book?

Ciao Book THOTS!

Leave a Reply

