The Couple Next Door

Basic Overview:
Title: The Couple Next Door

Author: Shari Lapena

Pg. #s: 308

Book Format: E – Book/Audiobook

My Numeric Judgment: 2f68c-32bstars2bout2bof2b5

               ♦SPOILER ALERT♦
If you watch Lifetime, this book won’t grab you.

This is the book we are reading in our book club Literary Savants and we will be discussing it on the 21st We meet up virtually so if you are interest feel free to let me know!

 

Summary:
The Couple Next Door is a suspense/thriller about a small suburban family whose daughter disappears. In the world of perfect marriages, 2.5 children, and picket fences, we soon realize all that glitters is not gold.

 

Judgments:
I would like to begin by informing you all that Lifetime has ruined most suspense…anything…for me. There I was, listening to/reading my book (audiobook/E-book) and enjoying life. I was following along with the story and everything, I was 100% enthralled by the story and the different points of views.

Then, almost half way through the damn book, I figured out everything; the who, what, where, when, and the why. This led to me being annoyed for the remainder of the book because I could not for the life of me understand why on earth everyone else in the book was taking so damn long to figure everything out!

There was also an annoyingly high level of unchecked mental illness that drove me up the wall. I swear we would go from the most mundane description to what sounds like lyrics from an ICP song in a matter of words. I am not sure if this made the book more exciting for me, or if it scared me…

The book was very fast paced and I greatly enjoyed most of the characters as well as the story. I was very hooked from the moment I started this book, but because I figured out the “twist”, the book lost quite a bit of its luster to me. I would recommend it to anyone, just as long as they aren’t connoisseurs of Lifetime and its affiliated networks, because you think too much to enjoy this novel.

 

What was the last suspense/thriller you read? Did it shock you? Also, if you have read this book, did you figure everything out quickly or were you shocked?

Ciao Book THOTS!

Leave a Reply

