Reading Material as a Child

Top 5 Wednesday
Children’s Books:
Greetings fellow Book THOTS! Today we shall be discussing my top 5 favorite children’s books. I had a hard time with this at first because I read a lot of chapter books as I child, but ultimately, I got it together!

If You Give A Mouse A Cookie

I loved this book and all the following ones in this series. I am unsure of why I found it so funny, but I did. It may have to do with the fact that I saw the play of it when I was about 8 or it may have to do with the fact that it never seemed to end.

Amelia Bedelia

I first go into Amelia Bedelia when I was reading my American Girl Magazine. After reading one of the samples, I absolutely had to read the stories about her. I thought she was so quirky and zany.

The Berenstein Bears

Confession: I will still drop absolutely everything to watch a Berenstein Bears Marathon and give it my 100 percent attention and I feel not one ounce of shame about it.

The Real Mother Goose

I am fairly certain I know every nursery rhyme in this book. This was actually the first book I owned as a child. I believe my mom bought it for me when I was 18 months (She told me, I don’t remember). I have so many fond memories with this book, the only reason it isn’t my number 1 is because…well you’ll see.

Arthur

I am a proud, 6-year-old, card carrying member of the Marc Brown Fan Club. No, I no longer have my Arthur Backpack and I gave away my coloring sheets, but I kept the card dang it. I believe Arthur was my first and favorite cartoon when I came to America. Then, I discovered they were based on books and I went nuts. I have watched 19 seasons…give me time to watch season 20.. and no one can stop me. I love the stories, the lessons, and the message of friendship and family.

Have you read any of these? What were your favorite children’s books?

Ciao Book THOTS!

8 comments

  1. YES! Wonderful books! Amelia & the baby shower. LOL! My son loves the Berenstein Bears. And yes, we watch the show TOGETHER. Although the hiccup episode irritates me to no end.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

